SCO Peace Mission Exercise 2018 concluded

SCO Peace Mission Exercise 2018 concluded

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Peace Mission Exercise 2018 conducted in Chebarkul, Russia focused on anti-terror operations concluded on Wednesday after days of joint training amongst multinational forces of eight SCO nations.

In this fifth edition of SCO Peace Mission Exercise where India participated for the first time, the focus was on the conduct of counter-terrorist operations in a multinational joint service environment. In the joint multinational exercise which began on 24 August, the SCO nations conducted training focused on combating terrorism. After intense military training, the joint exercise concluded with multinational forces exhibiting their combat power and dominance over the extremist groups in a simulated realistic situation.

The exercise aims to provide an opportunity to the armed forces of SCO nations to train in counter terrorism operations in urban scenario in a multinational and joint environment. The scope of the exercise includes professional interaction, mutual understanding of drills and procedures, establishment of joint command and control structures and elimination of terrorist threat in urban counter terrorist scenario.

About SCO (Shanghai Cooperation Organisation) :- 

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is a permanent intergovernmental international organisation. The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation Charter was signed during the St.Petersburg SCO Heads of State meeting in June 2002, and entered into force on 19 September 2003.

The Heads of State Council (HSC) is the supreme decision-making body in the SCO. It meets once a year and adopts decisions and guidelines on all important matters of the organisation. The SCO Heads of Government Council (HGC) meets once a year to discuss the organisation’s multilateral cooperation strategy and priority areas, to resolve current important economic and other cooperation issues, and also to approve the organisation’s annual budget.

The SCO’s main goals are as follows :-

  • Strengthening mutual trust and neighbourliness among the member states
  • Promoting their effective cooperation in politics, trade, the economy, research, technology and culture, as well as in education, energy, transport, tourism, environmental protection, and other areas
  • Making joint efforts to maintain and ensure peace, security and stability in the region
  • Moving towards the establishment of a democratic, fair and rational new international political and economic order.

Currently :-

  • The SCO comprises eight member states, namely the
    ♣ Republic of India
    ♣ Republic of Kazakhstan
    ♣ The People’s Republic of China
    ♣ The Kyrgyz Republic
    ♣ The Islamic Republic of Pakistan,
    ♣ The Russian Federation
    ♣ The Republic of Tajikistan
    ♣ Republic of Uzbekistan
  • The SCO counts four observer states namely the :- Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran & Mongolia
  • The SCO has six dialogue partners, namely the :- Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey & Sri Lanka.


Leave a Reply